Blogging through the Alphabet – E is for Emergency Preparedness

Emergency Preparedness…Gee, not something I like to think about.  But it’s something that every parent should think about.  Now this post isn’t going to go in to a lot of detail about what to do, but just one thing that every parent/adult should know.  CPR/AED/First Aid.

Over the past 18 years I have taken several CPR courses.  Some included first aid, some did not.  Some cover children/infants and some don’t.  I had never taken a course with the AED (Automated External Defibrillator) until 2007. 

When I was taking the course, I was thinking, “OK, I can do this.”  I had at one point wanted to be a nurse and have a fairly good nature to keep fairly calm in an emergency. 

In going through the course, you of course get to work on the mannequins to perform the life saving techniques.  I always do really good on the adults.  Watching the video for the class didn’t really phase me.  In fact I do quite good until I have to see the video with the children and infants.  Then to perform the techniques on the mannequins that are appropriate for that part.

The heart strings of this mom are pulled as I watch the dramatized video of children and infants choking or not breathing.  It scares me to think that this could happen to one of my children or a child in my care.  But I would rather have the knowledge of how to save my child or another than to not have it. 

My husband takes the course as part of the safety committee he is on at his job. 

We have actually had to use the infant and child Heimlich maneuver on our 2 younger boys.  One got some candy stuck and we were in the mall walking and he started to choke.  We stopped and sat down and did the child/infant Heimlich maneuver.  The piece of candy came out on the 3rd or 4th back hit.  There was even an off-duty ems person walking by who saw what we did and came and made sure we were all ok. 

Another time we were at home and a penny wound up in a mouth.  That thing took several good back hits to get it out.  Scariest part is that I was home alone with the kids.  It’s amazing how having another adult present is somewhat a calming presence.  However, our oldest son was there and ready to dial 911 if I couldn’t get the penny out.  Fortunately we didn’t have to call.

Something that every parent should know is CPR.  Every adult should know CPR.  That one instance where someone is calling for help in a public place, you can help! 

It can be a scary thing and right now I haven’t had to do anything other than what I have described above.  I don’t doubt that I will possibly have a freak out moment.  But Lord willing I will be given the peace to remember the training I have had and use it to hopefully help another person. 

To find a CPR/First Aid class you can go to the Red Cross’ website hereYou may even be able to take them at your local hospital, church, school, work or YMCA.  Classes can vary in price.  I have seen in our area from $20-$80.  Some include AED and First Aid, some do not.  Find the type that you want and contact the appropriate person to register for the class. 

Registering is important as they need to have enough supplies for the class.  So be sure to do that step.

Leave a Reply

