Putting on the Spirit – {Review}

So let me just start at the beginning.  Toward the latter half of last year I had surgery.  Then this year has been absolutely crazy for our family.  Homeschooling, adding speech therapy to our already crazy schedule, church, homeschool mom’s support group, kids activities and even more put me at my limit!

Keeping up with homeschooling and everything got really hard for me. Especially taking the time to do devotions for myself.  I made sure to do devotions with my children, after all I want to make sure they get a good foundation, but I really was really slacking on my own faith and growth.

It’s not really good for me to not be developing my own faith and grow in my walk with God when I am supposed to be leading my own children.

I made myself so busy and used every excuse in the book to justify why I didn’t focus on my own time with God.

Since I have 4 children ages ranging from 11 to 1 year old, I do have to schedule time.  Some days that is easier than others.  Some days not.  I really want to schedule a minimum of 30-60 minutes but that is not always possible.

So, 10 minutes.  Can you devote that much time to your walk with God?  I know I can definitely cut out some Facebook time, take it with me while I wait for the kids during a class or while riding as a passenger in the car to church, appointments and such.  It is definitely possible to give 10 minutes to God.

Where can you find a devotional written for busy moms like you and me?  Look no further.  Katie Horner at Paradise Praises really knows what it’s like to be a busy mom.  She put this together because she knows how important it is for us to refill our own cups.  We give so much and do so much for our families, friends, and it wears us down.  Spiritually and physically.  So we need to take the time to refresh ourselves.

That’s why I love about Katie Horner’s Putting on the Spirit Devotional.  It’s a way to fit your devotional time into 10 minutes a day.


These devotions are based on the Fruit of the Spirit which are found in the book of Galatians.  I have been working my way through them and have really enjoyed it.

The passage from Galatians 5:22-23 is broken up over 28 days.  Each Fruit of the Spirit is given a couple of days (on average 3 days).  Katie uses the passage in Galatians as well as others to dive deeper into the fruit you are studying.  

She also encourages writing about what you have learned or writing the passage in your own interpretation of it.  I am not a big writer for my devotions, but I actually enjoyed this.  Sometimes it would take me past the 10 minutes but not by much.

I really enjoyed working through this devotional.  I feel like it took me to a better understanding of the character traits (fruits) that God wants me to work on in my life.  

Katie also created a workbook to go with this Bible Study/Devotional.  Once you have purchased Putting On the Spirit: Ten-Minute Devotions for Busy Moms (for .99 cents on Amazon through the 13th of December) you can go HERE to download it for free.  🙂

This devotional is also available in Spanish for Kindle. 

Vistiéndose del Espíritu (Spanish Edition)


About the Author: 
Katie and her husband Tap have been missionaries in Mexico since 2007. They homeschool their four children and minister through church planting, Bible training, bookstore ministry, and homeschool curriculum development. 

Katie is a teacher at heart, and by trade, and loves to encourage women in their God-given roles through speaking, writing and blogging. She is the author of this and two other ebooks (at the date of this printing) as well as the Lemonhass homeschool curriculum for Spanish Speaking families

Katie blogs about marriage, motherhood, and ministry at ParadisePraises.com and she blogs about home education (in Spanish) at EducandoEnElHogar.com. 

She has guest posted on various other blogs in her niche and is also the host of Educando en el Hogar, an internet radio show that is part of the Ultimate Homeschool Radio Network. 

See also: 
Other notes of interest: Katie’s four favorite things are elephants, dark chocolate, the color purple and the mayan hammock in her living room. Oh and she’s due with baby #5 in early Feb. 2014. 

Leave a Reply

